Satavahana Dynasty

Satavahanas, also referred to as 'Andhras,' were among the large sects that ruled portions mid to north of India for almost five centuries. Though defeated by Emperor Ashoka, the Satavahanas asserted their sovereignty after his death under its founder, Simukha in 3rd century BC. The Satavahana territory extended to the Deccan, Karnataka and the Andhra region. Gautamiputra Satakarni of 1st century AD is acknowledged as the greatest ruler of the dynasty.

The Satavahanas issued coins of lead in addition to those of gold. Remnants of walled cities and use of baked bricks are found in several Satavahana sites. The patronage extended to Buddhism by the Satavahanas are visible from the several Viharas and 'Stupas' around Maharashtra and Deccan, the most notable being the one at Amaravati. Works written in Prakrit, their official language, verify the literary progress under their rule.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments