India | Karnataka

Uttara Kannada District

Uttara Kannada District in Karnataka is a narrow strip between the Western Ghats, and the Arabian Sea. Uttara Kannada is also known as North Canara or North Kanara. It is a rural district in India, and has an area of 10,291 sq km. Karwar is the district headquarters.

Rice and sugarcane are the major crops. Yana is a pilgrim center located amongst the evergreen forest of the Sahyadri Mountains. Banavasi, Devbagh Beach, Dandeli Wildlife Sanctuary, Kurumgad Island, Unchalli Falls and Magod Falls are the other places to visit.

Updated on 6th September, 2014

Beaches (8) Lakes and Glaciers (1) Sacred Places (5)
Bus Stations (6) Mosques (5) Spiritual Centers (2)
Cities and Towns (57) Museums and Archives (1) Temples (22)
Dams and Reservoirs (2) Performing Arts (1) Tourist Destinations (1)
Forts (1) Ports (2) Trains and Railway Stations (13)
Historical Monuments (1) Public Establishments (1) Villages (27)
Hotels (3) Resorts (5) Waterfalls (10)
Islands (2) Rivers (2) Wildlife Sanctuaries (4)
Jain Temples (1) Rocks and Caves (2)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments