South Western Railways

Headquartered at Hubli, South Western Railways is a part of Indian Railways. It serves Karnataka and parts of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Goa and Maharashtra. It covers 3,074 kilometers of rail. About 395 major and minor stations, including halt stations, come under the South Western Railways. Facilities provided by the railways include tourist information centers, computerized reservation system and interlocking system.

The main freight centers of the South Western Railways are Hospet, Bangalore, Mandya and Mysore. The main railway stations under the administrative control of South Western Railways are Bangalore City Junction Railway Station, Hospet Junction Railway Station, Mysore Junction Railway Station and Vasco Da Gama Railway Station. Many areas that fall under this service oriented organization are popular tourist destinations.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments