Jyotirlingas represent Lord Shiva. Commonly known by the names Gaurishankar and Shankar, Shiva manifested himself in the form of Jyoti (light) at twelve places. They are Kedarnath, Viswanath, Somnath, Mahakaleswar, Omkareshwar, Rameshwar, Mallikarjuna, Trimbakeshwar , Bhimashankar, Nageshwar, Baijnath and Grishneshwar. Even today, devotees are said to have his darshan in the form of jyoti at these places.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments