Skanda Purana

Illustrating the birth and life of Skanda ((Lord Muruga), Skanda Purana is the longest among the 18 Puranas. It is divided into seven kandas (sections): Maheshwar, Vaishnava, Brahma, Kashi, Avanti, Nagar and Prabhasa.

Skanda Purana has around 81,000 couplets. Glorifying tales about Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva and installation of Shivling in Kashi and Ujjain forms a major part of this Purana. Description of holy places and benefits of ritual bathing and fasting are also dealt in detail. Knowledge, asceticism, devotion, moral conduct, cleanliness, Varnashrama (four phases of life), Pativrat (abidance to the spouse), Yagya, donation, expiation, Shraddh (offering to the dead ancestors) are the other subjects mentioned.

Skanda Purana has similarities with the Kumarasambhava, the famous work of Kalidasa.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments