University Grants Commission

The University Grants Commission, the central agency that determines, co-ordinates and maintains the standards of university education in India, was formally established in November 1956, on the general model of the UGC of the United Kingdom. The head-office of the UGC is at Bahadur Shah Safar Marg in New Delhi, with two additional bureaus operating from Feroze Shah Road and the South Campus of the University of Delhi. It has six regional centers at Pune, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bhopal, Guwahati and Bangalore. At a time the Commission has a dozen or more members.

The UGC, the only grant-giving agency in the country, is a vital link between the State and Central Governments, and universities and higher educational institutions. It has numerous faculty development and quality assurance programs, that rate and ensure academic excellence of universities and affiliated institutions throughout the country.

Updated on 2nd December, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments