South Central Railways

The South Central Railways was formed on October 2, 1966. Its headquarters is located at Secunderabad. Vijayawada and Hubli divisions of the Southern Railways and Secuderabad and Solapur divisions of Central Railways had been combined to form the South Central Railways. This organization serves Andhra Pradesh, some parts of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Goa and Tamil Nadu. The Railways mainly focuses on the expansion of network. The organization strives to provide prompt service by keeping the trains on time.

South Central Railways ensures safe and sound operation of trains by offring modern passenger amenities. Passenger amenities provided include Computerized Reservation System, Interactive Voice Response Syste m (IVRS), National Train Enquiry System (NTES), Passenger Operated Enquiry Terminals (POET) and Close Circuit Television (CCTV.)

Main railway stations that come under the South Central Railways are at Hyderabad, Secunderabad, Vijayawada and Vasco Da Gama. As a service oriented organization, it has succeeded in emerging as a successful mass transportation system, fulfilling the needs of passengers.

Updated on 11th March, 2016


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments