India | Delhi

Tughlaq Dynasty

The Tughlaq Dynasty which ruled a large part of India, from the throne in Delhi, was founded by Ghias-ud-din Tughlaq. This dynasty stayed in power between 1320 and 1412. The Tughlaq Dynasty had three prominent rulers; Ghias-ud-din Tughlaq, his son Muhammad bin Tughlaq and his nephew Firoz Shah Tughlaq. The first two ruled over an empire which comprised almost the entire country, but the empire of Firoz Shah was much smaller. After his death, the Tughlaq Empire disintegrated and north India was divided into a series of small states. Although the Tughlaqs continued to rule till 1412, the invasion of Delhi by Timur in 1398 marked the end of the Tughlaq Empire. The Tughlaqs built a number of magnificent monuments. Among these, the most notable ones are Tughlaqabad and Feroz Shah Kotla.

Updated on 15th July, 2014


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments