India | Bihar

Saharsa District

Saharsa District in Bihar occupies an area of 1,696 sq km and has a population of 2.5 million. There are two subdivisions Saharsa Sadar and Simri Bakhtiyarpur. The district is divided into seven blocks namely Saharsa Sadar, Menhasari, Simri Bhaktiyarpur, Nauhatta, Saurbazar, Sonbarsa, and Salkhua. Its headquarters is at Saharsa.

The Kosi, known as the river of sorrow, is the main river. Paddy is the main crop. A jute factory is also located here. Ugratara temple at Maheshi is the prominent attraction.

Updated on 18th July, 2005

Cities and Towns (10) Trains and Railway Stations (1) Villages (5)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments