India | Assam

Dibrugarh District

Located in the north-eastern corner of the Upper Brahmaputra valley, Dibrugarh District is spread over an area of 3,381 sq km. It is bounded by Dhemaji District and a part of Lakhimpur District in the north, part of Sibsagar District and Arunachal Pradesh in the south, and Tinsukia District in the east. The town of Dibrugarh is the headquarters.

The Brahmaputra runs a length of 95 km along the northern margin of Dibrugarh. The Burhi Dihing is the main tributary which in turn has many sub-tributaries. The Joypur reserve forest occupies an area of 1,066,608 hectares.

There are many wetlands of varying size. The beels (a beel is a large monsoon-season water body in the flood plain) and swamps form the major component of the area's ecology. The beels are traditionally used as natural fisheries. Dibrugarh has a subtropical monsoon climate with mild winter, and warm and humid summer. It experiences uneven rainfall in various parts.

The important monastries include Dehing Satra, Dehing Namtii Satra, Dinjoy Satra, Moderkhat Satra, Garpara Satra, Koli Aai Than.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Dibrugarh

Airports (1) Historical Monuments (2) Trains and Railway Stations (2)
Bus Stations (4) Hotels (1) Universities (1)
Cities and Towns (11) Islands (1) Villages (7)
Forests (1) Parks and Gardens (1) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)
Hills and Mountains (1) Tourist Destinations (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments