India | Assam

Bongaigaon District

Bongaigaon District is situated in the western part of Assam, on the north bank of the mighty river Brahmaputra. It covers an area of 2,510 sq km and holds a population of about 1 million. Bongaigaon is surrounded by four districts - Barpeta in the east, Goalpara in the south-east, Kokrajhar in the west and Dhubri in the north-west. Main towns are Bongaigaon, Bijni, Abhayapuri and Jogighopa. Main tourist destinations: Bageswari Temple, Bishnupur, Kakaijana Reserve Forest, Lalmati-Duramari Ganesh Mandir and Rock-Cut Cave.

Updated on 7th June, 2005

Archeological Sites (1) Lakes and Glaciers (1) Trains and Railway Stations (4)
Bus Stations (1) Rocks and Caves (1) Villages (8)
Cities and Towns (5) Temples (2) Wildlife Sanctuaries (1)


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments