India | Andhra Pradesh | Tirupati

Tirumala Hills

Tirumala, located 148 km from Horsley Hills in Chittoor District, is a pilgrim center famous for its seven hills adjoining the town of Tirupati. It is at an altitude of 3,200 ft above sea level and 11 sq miles in area.

Placed on the Eastern Ghats, the hills are believed to be the seven heads of serpent Adisesha, on which Lord Vishnu rests. They are known by the names Seshadri, Neeladri, Garudadri, Anjanadri, Vrishabhadri, Narayanadri and Venkatadri. A temple complex named Sri Venkateswara is placed on the Venkatadri, where a substantial number of devotees throng every day. An 11 km walk to the top of the hill through sandalwood forests takes the pilgrims to the temple. The name of Lord Vishnu is chanted throughout the walk.

One of the major landmarks of Tirumala is Chandragiri Palace that was built in 1639. A temple dedicated to Lord Kalyana Venkateswaraswamy is at a distance of 36 km. The temple is thought to be the venue of marriage between Lord Vishnu and Goddess Padmavathi. Other prominent sites are Sri Varahaswami Temple, Sri Anjaneyaswami Temple, Silathoranam and TTD Gardens. Besides, a sacred water fall named Akash Ganga is a point of interest.

There are choultries maintained by the temple trust to accommodate pilgrims. Luxury suites, cottages and dormitories are included in the accommodation. The ideal time to visit is from October to March.

The nearest airport is 15 km away in Tirupati and closest railhead is at Renigunta. Bus services are also available.

Updated on 7th June, 2005
District: Chittoor
Location: Tirupati    


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments