India | Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation


Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation had a modest beginning when it was established in 1932 as a unit of the Nizam State Railways's road transport division in the erstwhile Hyderabad state with 27 buses and 166 employees. It assumed its present name on January 11, 1958 when the old Nizam State Railways was re-constituted in accordance with the Road Transport Corporations Act of 1950. Now the corporation has a fleet strength of over 20,000 buses and 1.28 lakh employees, serving every nook and corner of Andhra Pradesh. APSRTC's zonal headquarters is located at Hyderabad.

APSRTC's daily services link over 24,336 villages with major cities and towns in the state. While ‘Village Link’ services connect villages to the nearest mandal / revenue headquarters / towns, the ‘Graamani’ services cater to the needs of peripheral areas of towns. The APSRTC also runs buses to major destinations in the neighboring states of Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh and Orissa.

Updated on 2nd August, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments