Telugu, the official language of Andhra Pradesh, belongs to the Dravidian languages family. In 19th century, Englishmen called this language 'Italian of the East' because all of its words end with a vowel sound. 'Andhra bhasha' was Telugu's first name and it has a strong influence of Prakrit languages. Telugu script has 56 characters.

Updated on 7th June, 2005


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments