'Ratirahasya' or 'Secrets of Love' is an ancient Indian text. It is a poem composed by Kukkoka. This work is also known by the name 'Koka Shastra.' The exact antiquity of Ratirahasya is not known, but it is believed to belong to the 13th century. Vatsyayana is mentioned in 'Ratirahasya,' indicating that the text was written after Vatsyasana's 'Kamasutra' was written. 'Ratirahasya' has 800 verses, and is divided into ten chapters. Each chapter is called a Pachiveda. 'Ratirahasya' mentions 4 types of women, Padmini, Chitrini, Shankhini and Hastini, not mentioned in earlier literature.

Updated on 28th March, 2016


Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments