Atreya Samhita

Atreya Samhita is an ancient text on Ayurvedic medicines written by Atreya. It contains 46,500 verses in five adhyayas (chapters). It is the basis of the works of Harita and Charaka. It describes about the eight branches of ayurveda such as Kayachikitsa (Internal Medicine), Shalakya Tantra (surgery and treatment of head and neck, Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology), Shalya Tantra (Surgery), Agada Tantra (Toxicology), Bhuta Vidya (Psychiatry), Kaumarabhritya (Pediatrics), Rasayana (science of rejuvenation or anti-aging), and Vajikarana (the science of fertility).

[Source all india (80) 06-Apr-05]

Updated on 11th April, 2018

Copyright 2014 by Online Highways LLC. Enjoy some India trivia. Send Us Your Comments

privacy policy