Government of India
Country Name INDIA
Conventional Long Form Republic of India
Conventional Short Form India
Government Type Federal Republic
Capital New Delhi
Administrative Divisions 28 states and 7 union territories
Independence 15 August 1947 (from UK)
National Holidays Republic Day, 26 January (1950); Independence Day 15 August (1947)
Constitution Formed On 26 January 1950
Legal System Based on English common law; Limited judicial review of legislative acts, Accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations.
Suffrage 18 years of age, Universal
Executive Branch  
President Mr. Pranab Mukherjee
Vice President Mr. M. Hamid Ansari 
Head of Government Prime Minister Manmohan Singh
Cabinet Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister.
Legislative Branch
Bicameral Parliament or Sansad consists of the Council of States or Rajya Sabha (a body consisting of not more than 250 members, up to 12 of which are appointed by the president, the remainder are chosen by the elected members of the state and territorial assemblies; members serve six-year terms) and the People's Assembly or Lok Sabha (545 seats; 543 elected by popular vote, 2 appointed by the president; members serve five-year terms)
Judicial Branch Supreme Court (judges are appointed by the president and remain in office until they reach the age of 65)